Time for glory

To the very end, predictions were made on the teams who would win the season. In LMP1, before a mechanical failure, Henri Pescarolo’s team believed they would make it and Jean-Christophe Boullion’s driving talent nearly brought the team the same remarkable achievement as in 2006. They finish second in the classification, an impressive feat of David against Goliath.

Finally the British Aston Martin Team wins the 2009 title, exactly 50 years after the victory of the manufacturer in the Sports Car World Championship! A well deserved tribute to the history of the British brand.

In LMP2, the Portuguese team Quifel ASM, in spite of a shortened race, wins the title in its category concluding a very successful season for Olivier Pla and Miguel Amaral.

In LMGT1, the Luc Alphand Team, after a difficult season, had two happy experiences during the weekend: the return of their leader Luc Alphand in grand shape and winning the season with their Corvette C6.R n°72.

In LMP2, just the once won’t hurt: the battle raged until the last minute! The Felbermayr Proton Germans win this season by one small point in front of their opponents JMW Motorsport! In other words it was shoulder to shoulder and the smallest point had its importance including the one given during the qualifications to the team in pole position!

Last but not least we congratulate the team combining performance and energy saving: the Speedy Racing team Sebbah was awarded the Michelin Green X Challenge trophy.

If we are already looking towards the next season, we would like to take the time to thank all the teams who have fought for their colours during the season and at the same time for those of Endurance racing.

Click here to read more      www.lemans-series.com

Schreibe einen Kommentar