History repeated in Brazil with Yvan Muller and Gabriele Tarquini taking a victory apiece for the second year in succession in Curitiba and leaving Brazil as joint leaders of the Drivers Championship, the only difference being the teams they are competing for.
The Chevrolet team commanded Race 1 with all three of their drivers filling the podium. The good points haul means the USA brand comes away from Curitiba leading the Manufacturers‘ Championship with 70 points.
All eyes were on the newly formed SEAT customer team, SR-Sport, to see what they had to offer. Race 1 provided a best result of fourth with Tarquini, but the defending champion came fighting back in Race 2 to take victory ahead of team mate Jordi Gené and making it a satisfactory end to the weekend for the team.
BMW Team RBM struggled on race day after the weather went against them despite being the pace setters for most of the weekend. Local boy Augusto Farfus had to settle for two sixth places, while Andy Priaulx was forced out of the second race after a clash with his team-mate.
The newcomers were impressive. Norbert Michelisz and Michel Nykjær showed they can chase the most experienced drivers, Fredy Barth opened the roll of honour of the new Rookie Challenge, while Darryl O’Young fought for the Independents‘ victory in Race 1 with Stefano D’Aste and Sergio Hernández.

WTCC HSBC Race of Brazil – Autódromo Internacional de Curitiba – 6 / 7 March 2010

Schreibe einen Kommentar