Everything is ready at Brno’s Automotodrom for the 13th and 14th rounds of the FIA WTCC that will take place on Sunday.
After 12 of the 22 rounds, Chevrolet’s Yvan Muller has built a leading margin of 23 points ahead of the reigning World Champion Gabriele Tarquini, while BMW’s Andy Priaulx lies third, a further 28 points behind.
"Brno is always a key moment in the season and a very pleasant event, although the track is quite abrasive and hard on tyres, especially for front-wheel drive cars," Muller commented. "I think we should be competitive, maybe more in qualifying than in race configuration, but we will see. The objective is to continue scoring heavy points. I am in the lead of the championship, but it is way too early to get excited about that. I know very well from previous years that the WTCC titles get decided on the last lap of the last race, so the best thing we can do for the time being is to bring home as many points as possible."
Track action for the WTCC competitors will start on Saturday with the first 30-minute free practice at 8.30. A second practice will follow at 12.00, with the Qualifying session taking place from 15.00, being split as usual in Q1 (20 minutes) and Q2 (10 minutes) with a 5-minute break in-between.

Chevrolet’s Yvan Muller leads the Drivers‘ Championship at mid-season

WTCC regular Michel Nykjær dominated the third and fourth rounds of the FIA European Touring Car Cup that were held last Sunday at the Austrian Salzburgring.
The Danish racer, twice a winner of the ETC Cup in 2007 and 2008, won both races at the wheel of the very same SEAT León TDI he drives in the WTCC, beating the Honda Accord cars of pole sitter James Thompson and Tomas Engström.
"I was very disappointed with my qualifying, as in the rain I could not fight for the pole. But Sunday, on the dry track, I could really push to the maximum and my car had a very quick pace. Obviously my priority remains the WTCC, but I hope we can find the way to take part in the ETCC finale at Franciacorta," said Nykjær.
Carsten Seifert from Germany (Ford Fiesta) and Vojislav Lekic from Serbia (Honda Civic), won the Super 1600 and Super Production classes respectively.

Nykjær’s SEAT chased by the Honda cars of Thompson and Engström

Schreibe einen Kommentar