British drivers won all today in Brno as Rob Huff took his first victory of the season for Chevrolet in Race 1 and Andy Priaulx scored BMW’s 50th WTCC win in Race 2.
These results, joint with the bad luck that hit Yvan Muller and Gabriele Tarquini, meant a big leap forward in the championship classification for both, Priaulx and Huff
In Race 1, Huff claimed a lights-to-flag victory despite a short safety car period interrupting proceedings. He crossed the line ahead of reigning world champion Gabriele Tarquini and his teammate Alain Menu.
In Race 2, BMW Team RBM’s Priaulx came from fourth on the grid to take an extra special victory at the place where he scored his first win for BMW back in 2003. Colin Turkington finished second after holding off the charge from Menu, who obtained his second podium finish of the day.
Yvan Muller did not score this weekend and remained on 199 points with Tarquini (who retired in the second race) now just 5 points adrift on 194. Priaulx lies third, only 16 points behind the leader, whil Huff is fourth and reduced his gap to 32.
Darryl O’Young, the young rookie from Hong Kong, dominated the Independents‘ category taking two wins. He has now closed the gap in the standings to Sergio Hernández who still leads. O’Young and Michel Nykjær shared victories in the Rookie Challenge that is now led by Fredy Barth.
The championship will resume after the summer break for rounds 15 and 16 at Oschersleben, Germany on September 5.

The Stewards investigated three different incidents: two in Race 1 and one in Race 2.
Darryl O’Young was judged guilty of pushing Tiago Monteiro into a spin during the first race. He received a 30-second time penalty that dropped him from 8th to 17th and handed the Independents‘ victory to Kristian Poulsen.
The same penalty was imposed to Mehdi Bennani for a collision with Poulsen in Race 2. The Moroccan racer was therefore demoted from 15th to 16th.
Both O’Young and Bennani were also given a drop of 10-grid positions that will remain suspended for two and one events (respectively).
A drop of grid position was also awarded to Norbert Michelisz for the collision with Colin Turkington after the restart of the first race. In this case the penalty will be applied at the next race in Oschersleben.

Schreibe einen Kommentar