Rob Huff continued his good form to claim pole position for tomorrow’s Race of Macau. The Briton claimed his second pole of the season after Brno and followed on from his success in 2009 when he also secured pole and victory in Race 1. Rookie Norbert Michelisz put in a great final lap to finish second quickest, but will start the race in seventh after receiving a 5-position grid penalty. Chevrolet’s newly crowned World Champion Yvan Muller was third while Hong Kong’s Darryl O’Young was the best independent in ninth.

Q2 – After yesterday’s qualifying session in Macau came to a premature end as darkness fell, the postponed 15-minute final top ten shootout took place in Macau this morning. After Q1 the drivers going through into Q2 were Yvan Muller from Rob Huff, Tiago Monteiro, Alain Menu, Norbert Michelisz, Darryl O’Young, Gabriele Tarquini, Andy Priaulx, Augusto Farfus and André Couto.
Huff was the first to top the times as Muller went into the barrier at the Lisboa Bend ruining his first lap and Couto’s but rejoined with the pair, alongside Monteiro, heading straight back into the pits. After the first completed laps Huff was quickest from Farfus, Menu, Tarquini, Priaulx, O’Young and Michelisz.
Farfus then clipped the tyres at the Lisboa and pitted for the rest of the session while O’Young went on to clock a second flying lap on his first run.
With his Chevrolet Cruze taped up following the damage, Muller came out to complete his only quick lap, moving up to second. Huff improved his earlier time to a 2:31.321 to secure pole while Michelisz put in a great final lap to demote Muller from second.
The final order at the chequered flag was Huff from Michelisz, Muller, Menu, Monteiro, Farfus, Tarquini, Priaulx, O’Young and Couto. With Michelisz’s penalty it leaves a trio of Chevrolets at the front putting them in an ideal position to secure the Manufacturers‘ Championship tomorrow.

WTCC Guia Race of Macau – Circuito da Guia – 19 / 21 November 2010

Schreibe einen Kommentar