Kevin Mirocha storms to maiden pole at the Hungaroring

1. Kevin Mirocha secured his maiden F2 pole during today's qualifying at the Hungaroring
Pole secures pole during closely fought session

Kevin Mirocha secured his maiden pole during today’s (Friday) closely fought Formula Two qualifying at the Hungaroring, setting a blistering lap midway through the session to edge out Markus Pommer by a mere 0.027s.

Swiss teenager Mathéo Tuscher, currently lying second in the drivers‘ standings, finished third after opting to go out late and putting in a flying middle sector during his best lap – leaving the top three covered by just 0.125s

Alex Fontana was the first driver to set a competitive lap time during the 30-minute sun-soaked session with the Swiss racer ending fourth – his best qualifying result since Spa. Fifth spot went to Mihai Marinescu, competing at his adopted home circuit, while British duo of Daniel McKenzie and Luciano Bacheta both set identical lap times to go sixth and seventh – with the championship leader setting his time second.

Christopher Zanella was another driver who opted to only go out in the second half of the session but the 22-year-old was unable to recreate his leading pace shown during Thursday’s pre-event test to end eighth.

Axcil Jefferies secured ninth with Hector Hurst rounding out the top 10 ahead of today’s race (round 13) which gets underway at 13:50 (local time).

Speaking afterwards Mirocha said: "I’ve been working hard on my pace and set-up and we’ve made good progress this weekend. I knew from yesterday’s practice that we were strong and although the session was tough with quite a few yellow flags, I got everything correct on my quick lap time using new tyres and I’m very happy with my first pole and for everyone back in Poland."

Live streaming of today’s race will also be available on

F2 Results: Hungaroring – Qualifying 1:

1. Kevin Mirocha, 1:34.681s
2. Markus Pommer, +0.027s
3. Mathéo Tuscher, +0.125s
4. Alex Fontana, +0.250s
5. Mihai Marinescu, +0.530s
6. Daniel McKenzie, +0.615s
7. Luciano Bacheta, +0.615s
8. Christopher Zanella, +0.634s
9. Axcil Jefferies, +0.906s
10. Hector Hurst, +1.005s
11. David Zhu, +1.007s
12. Dino Zamparelli, +1.197s
13. Richard Gonda, +1.306s
14. Max Snegirev, +1.541s
15. Plamen Kralev, +1.589s

Schreibe einen Kommentar