Peugeot UK driver Kris Meeke has won his third consecutive IRC event by claiming victory on his first participation in the Belgium Ypres Rally, round five of the IRC series. The momentous win has promoted Meeke to a six-point lead in the standings over Peugeot Belgium driver Freddy Loix: the winner of the Belgium Ypres Rally last year.
Meeke and Loix were involved in a battle for the lead from the very beginning of the rally, trading fastest stage times. Over the course of the 16-stage event, Meeke won eight stages while Loix won seven. Meeke edged ahead after SS12, but Loix – a five-time winner of the Belgium Ypres Rally – claimed to have more speed in reserve. His challenge evaporated on the following stage though, when the Belgian picked up a puncture that dropped him to fourth place. He refused to give up and eventually finished third, maintaining second place in the championship.
The only other person to challenge the two leaders was Skoda driver Jan Kopecky, who was in the top three from the very first day. The only problem that the Czech encountered was a motorcyclist who rode into him on a road section before SS10, but fortunately there were no serious consequences. Following Loix’s puncture Kopecky moved up into second place, where he remained to the finish in order to graduate to third place overall in the championship standings.
Kopecky’s team mate Juho Hanninen was third up until the final stage, where he too punctured a tyre and dropped down to fifth. Nonetheless, the popular Finn scores his first points of the year. Hanninen’s misfortune benefitted local driver Pieter Tsjoen, who claimed fourth at the finish in a privately-run Peugeot 207 S2000.
The battle for sixth resulted in one of the closest finishes in the history of the IRC. Luxembourg driver Gilles Schammel, driving a Peugeot 207 S2000, finished just 0.1 seconds ahead of Dutchman Jasper van den Heuvel, at the wheel of a Mitsubishi Lancer.
The final point was claimed by Abarth’s Giandomenico Basso, who lost fourth place on the very final stage after picking up a puncture on the same rock that caused a problem for Hanninen. Basso’s Abarth team mate Bernd Casier eventually finished 13th after being delayed by a gearbox problem and punctures: a constant risk on the challenging Belgian asphalt.
This notoriously tricky event, which is renowned in the world of international rallying, claimed some high-profile victims: most notably Francois Duval, making a guest appearance in a privateer Skoda Fabia S2000. The Belgian’s rally lasted just a few hundred metres before he skated off the road on SS1. Nicolas Vouilloz, the reigning IRC champion, also endured a difficult opening stage on Thursday: he went wide on a corner and heavily damaged the front of his Peugeot 207 S2000. The Frenchman was attempting to make his way back up the leaderboard on the second day when he got stuck behind the similar car of Michal Solowow, which had been slowed by a puncture, and went off whilst trying to get past it.
The IRC 2WD Cup was won by Dutchman Marcel Piepers, driving a Honda Civic Type R. Piepers stamped his authority over the event, but second place for Frenchman Denis Millet was enough to give the Frenchman the joint lead of the IRC 2WD Cup standings. Another Honda, driven by Martijn Braat, was third – usefully boosting the Japanese manufacturer’s haul in the IRC 2WD Cup constructors‘ standings.
1 Meeke / Nagle    Peugeot 207 S2000    2hrs 32m 16.3s
2 Kopecky / Stary    Skoda Fabia S2000    +20.4s
3 Loix / Smeets    Peugeot 207 S2000    +1m40.5s
4 Tsjoen / Chevaillier    Peugeot 207 S2000    +2m35.3s
5 Hanninen / Markkula    Skoda Fabia S2000    +3m35.1s
6 Schammel / Jamoul    Peugeot 207 S2000    +4m06.4s
7 Van den Heuvel / Kolman    Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 10    +4m06.5s
8 Basso / Dotta    Abarth Grande Punto S2000    +4m 24.9s
9 Betti/ Capolongo    Peugeot 207 S2000    +5m48.3s
10 Fontana/Cassina    Peugeot 207 S2000    +6m24.5s
IRC 2WD Cup Winner: Piepers/de Wild    Honda Civic Type R R3
1 Kris Meeke    UK    30
2 Freddy Loix    B    24
3 Jan Kopecky    CZ    21     
4 Nicolas Vouilloz    F    14
5 Giandomenico Basso    I    11    
6 Sebastien Ogier    F    10
7 Carl Tundo    EAK    10
8 Alistair Cavenagh    GB    8
9 Lee Rose    EAK    6    
10 Stephane Sarrazin     F    6
1 Peugeot    68
3 Ralliart    35
3 Skoda    25
4 Abarth    15
"I never thought for a minute that I could be in a position to win here, so to be on the top step of the podium on such a prestigious event is a dream come true for me. I think this is certainly the biggest moment of my career to date. Everyone knows the reputation of this rally: victory here feels very special. But it takes more than one person to make a race, and it’s been fantastic to have such a fight, with just tenths of a second separating us all. I think this weekend is the most fun I’ve ever had behind the wheel."
-Kris Meeke, Peugeot UK, Winner
"Second place is a very good result for us, particularly as we had the accident with the motorcyclist today, which was not a nice feeling as it distracted us. Luckily everyone is OK, but it is not a nice thing to happen on a rally. I tried as best as I could, but I think this result is a real testimony to just how good our car is. I’d like to thank our entire team: we have had two second places now and we are third in the championship, which is a good sign that we are making progress."
– Jan Kopecky, Skoda Motorsport, Second
"Of course it’s a shame for everyone that we had the puncture, as before it was a really great fight with Kris. I tried not to push my hardest all the time, because this is not the sort of rally where you can take big risks, but in the end it was a really close battle between the two of us. The most important thing in any sport is to have good competition, and we certainly had that all weekend."
-Freddy Loix, Peugeot Belgium, Third
By contrast to the flat-out asphalt roads of Belgium, the IRC moves next to the gravel stages of Rally Russia. The Russian event, now in its third year of participation in the IRC, is based as always in the city of Vyborg, not far from the Finnish border.
Unsurprisingly, the roads have quite a lot in common with those that feature on the legendary Rally Finland, rewarding bravery and commitment above all else. The Rally Russia takes place from July 9-11, with a ceremonial start in the beautiful city of St Petersburg.
Eurosport will broadcast highlights from the Belgium Ypres Rally regularly, and video highlights can also be viewed on the official IRC website: To watch highlights from Belgium and the rest of year, please click on ‚watch video highlights‘. Alternatively, click on the flag of your preferred language in the Yahoo Eurosport box. All times listed below are Central European Times.
Tuesday 23 June
– 23h00 => 23h30      Rally Highlights (Eurosport)

Meeke claimed his third consecutive IRC victory

Schreibe einen Kommentar