The other champions are Krammes, Karamyshev and Poulsen

For the third time this season, Fernando Monje and his SEAT León TDi took back-to-back victories. Today at Imola the 19-year old Spaniard claimed his fifth and sixth wins out of the series’ eight races to be crowned champion in the Super 2000 class.

Since the 2012 ETCC kicked off in Monza, Monje had proved he was in a class of his own and only a couple of technical failures occurred during the season’s second race meeting at the Slovakia Ring, prevented him from securing the title even before the final event. Monje was the third SEAT driver to clinch the S2000 title after Ryan Sharp in 2006 and Michel Nykjær in 2007; his repeated victories also meant that the Nation’s Cup was awarded to Spain and collected by SEAT Sport’s Director Jaime Puig.
His SUNRED Engineering team-mate Igor Skuz was classified second in both races today, but it was Switzerland’s Peter Rikli (Honda Civic) who finished as the runner-up in the series, beating Peter Fulín (BMW 320si) by one mere point.

In the Super 1600 class, local racer Paolo Necchi tried his best, claiming pole position and two race wins. However, this was not enough to steal the title from Germany’s Kevin Krammes who eventually topped the standings by seven points only. The Imola races also highlighted the progress of the Maurer Motorsport Chevrolet Aveo; with two second places the 20-year old Argentine Wilson Borgnino managed to climb to fourth in the points despite missing the first event at Monza and remaining scoreless in Slovakia. The little Chevrolet has definitely the potential to stop the invincibility of the Ford Fiesta in the class.

Although the Super Production title had been awarded even before Imola to Nikolay Karamyshev, the Russian driver recovered from an engine failure that had sidelined his Honda Civic in yesterday’s qualifying and added two more victories to his tally.

The title fight for the Single-Make Trophy went to the wire. In both races at Imola, Norway’s Stian Paulsen managed to keep his rival Andreas Pfister at bay and eventually edged him by only six points in the final classification.

Autodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari, Imola

Schreibe einen Kommentar